From Last Year

Last month, although I was able to make more progress compared to my previous pace, I was still disappointed with myself because I knew I was still slacking off. I had been planning to push myself further to accomplish even more this month. I had a lot of things to do in line. But unfortunately, due to struggling with some… health issues, I had no choice but to sit back and take some rest. I’ll probably talk more about these frustrations in my next posts.

On the brighter side, a friend sent some photos he took of us from last year so I can still maintain my two-posts-a-month streak. (Yey~)

These shots were taken when we attended Cosplay Mania last October 2016. I had been trying to avoid saying gloomy things but sadly, these were some of the last few coordinates I styled for us, while we were together as a couple.

Dressing up for me is a form of art. I always feel great satisfaction everytime I find pieces that look like they are made to go together (especially if they’re from different collections/brands). Blending colors and textures in perfect harmony always brings me pleasure beyond words. Clothes and accessories that reflect a part of me are hidden gems. Fashion is like an extension of my skin. (I actually wanted to say “an extension of my soul”, but I don’t believe in souls lol)

I think these coordinates can be classified under what they would refer to in Japan as “puchipura“(プチプラ), as I didn’t choose pieces from the more expensive brands. (The term puchipura was coined from “petit” and “price“).

Anyway, let’s get to it! Here’s what we wore for Day 1. We arrived at the event around 6pm or so because we spent our entire afternoon falling in line for Pablo’s Cheesecake. lol *no regrets*

cosmania1This shot was taken by one of our favorite Filipino photographers, Kira Hokuten.

Loon’s skirt was actually something I bought from ACDC Rag for my little sister around 5 years ago. (She chose it herself lol) She had grown a lot now and it seems like she has no plans of wearing it anymore so I borrowed it for this set.

The chokers and necklaces were Loon’s finds. Her safety pin bracelet was from Bodyline and the cute leg accessory was something commisioned by Ian Cartalaba. Check out his shop here.

It makes me sad that I forgot to include the black cat plush as one of my favorite items in my Friday the 13th post. (I might edit that next time.) I bought this from a random shop in 0101 Shinjuku, if I remember it right. It’s so cute it even has a small pocket at the back. I used to annoy my favorite cat with this plush too.

cosmania2Another great shot by Kira. This one is my favorite among the set. \(^o^)/

I’m not a dog person but as soon as I saw the length, texture, and design of the longsleeves, I was delighted and immediately bought it. I knew it would perfectly match that shirt. The crop top I wore was originally a dress, which I modified. I got the sunglasses from a local street vendor for as low as 50pesos($1). lol Lately, I’m also getting fond of more comfortable pieces such as those pants and shoes.

For Day 2, we decided to go for something more simple because we intended to roam around the event longer.

cosmania4This lovely shot was taken by another friend, Emman. You may visit his page here.

This jumper from Forever 21 felt majestic to wear. lol The lower part somehow reminded me of a certain coat I have from BPN. The sheer fabric was very light and soft and the drape felt like I was wearing a cape. Although, the length made me a little bit paranoid while riding the escalator.

It’s not visible in this photo but at the back of Loon’s shoes, there are black strips with similar “Love” design like the one on her skirt. Her mini panda bag is 3x more adorable up close. It even has a little bamboo design at the tip.

My rabbit bag here belongs to Loon. The design makes me think of Alice in Wonderland. And yes, as you may notice, we “recycled” the bag and shoes for this set too because multiple shoes and bags are too heavy to carry all the way to Manila. (/tagabundok probs)

cosmania-3It was such a windy day! You may visit Kira’s page for more photos like this.

I wish there are more chances to dress up like this. But aside from the Ph heat, I don’t have the vigor to go out that often anymore. (/old people probs lol)

2 thoughts on “From Last Year

Leave a Reply

